Menu Close

Reviews of Classic Vintage Fishing Tackle

If you would like to review my service or vintage angling items, please do so either below or via Google at goo.gl/nCokhB.

Thank you!

EXCELLENT
5 reviews on
Neville Maguire
2 February 2021
Excellent service, ordered spare spool for Cardinal 66, was with me within a couple of days. Quick and easy communication, would highly recommend. Neville Maguire.
Ray Nolan
13 May 2020
Shallow spool for ABU 508 fits perfectly thanks...
Martin Buckingham
25 January 2019
Ordered a replacement spool for my vintage Cardinal 4 reel. Seamless transaction, shipped all the way to Canada and fits perfectly! Thanks Les!
Brian Trussell
9 September 2018
If there was 10 stars you would get it. I recently purchase a rod from here, the 6'1" Fibatube 3.5wt. Ive been looking for this rod for years and when it popped up I had to buy it. Les was gracious enough to allow me to deposit on the rod to hold it. I paid within a week and he shipped it to me in 4 days. I still cant figure that one out because I'm in the USA. Having ordered many Hardy rods from the UK they always take weeks to arrive. On top of that Les has great communication which makes his buyers feel secure. WILL BE A REPEAT CUSTOMER HERE FROM THE USA> that said I fished the rod a few times now, a dream on brook trout streams just like I imagined it. Thank you so much LES!

Review your purchase and service from Les Shaw at Classic Vintage Fishing Tackle

5.0
5.0 out of 5 stars (based on 14 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Abu multipler

12/06/2024

Ordered Abu multipler..received quickly.Really pleased with the condition, for second hand it looks brand new . Still had the oil and everything in the box.

So pleased I found the website. Highly recommend

Micheal Grinstead

I have bought a 52 reel and two aluminum spools and part from LES SHAW , Im in Canada .Nice to have a place you can deal with confidence with kudos

07/06/2024

AWESOME PLACE

DIRK MOLDENHAUER

Customer service is second to none

31/05/2024

I have just completed my second transaction with Les and have to say that the level of customer service is off of the scale of anything I’ve experienced elsewhere on the web. I’ve now replaced the original spools on both my ABU Cardinal 55’s and now the 44X’;s which I’ve owned from new! The aluminium replicas, which Les supplies, are absolutely stunning. The level of engineering and finish has to be seen to be fully appreciated, they are certainly an improvement on the original items which says it all really?

From my initial email enquiry to actual delivery, Les has gone above and beyond to ensure I got exactly what I was looking for. It is a pleasure doing business with this guy

Dylan Wrathall

Totally pleased with my Cardinal 4 spool

29/02/2024

I was having trouble finding a replacement for my vintage Cardinal 4 reel.Found the web site and I am glad I did. Confirmed prior to ordering from Canada regarding the part. Received in four days and it fits perfectly. Could not find it anywhere else. Saved my reel and saved the reel for future great fishing days. Thanks to Les.

Robert Switzer

reserve spoel aluminium ABU 54-55

05/02/2024

Les, is een zeer vriendelijke behulpzame man. Bestelling vlot geleverd. Het is ook de moeite waard om hem te bezoeken op de vintage beurs in Vught.

Paul Bevers

Brand new,unused Abu Abu 501 / 506M Spool

23/11/2023

I am the proud owner of both the 501 and 506M, so to find this spool in pristine condition on Les’ site was a dream come true. Excellent service, communication and fast delivery. First class site and owner. Highly recommend. A++++++++++

Michael

Abu Cardinal 44 Reel

03/10/2023

I am so thrilled I bought this reel.

The reel is in incredible condition externally, and with Martin Stone having worked his magic on the internal side of things, it runs like a smooth dream.

The engineering of these Swedish built reels is second to none, and having been worked on a serviced, it’s going to be good for another 50 years or so, and beyond. This is the smoothest reel I’ve ever used, bar none, and that includes the most modern top of the range reels too. Many thanks.

Steve

Abu 506 parts

19/09/2023

I don’t leave reviews often, as I think most companies should be giving a certain level of service anyway.

With Les, from the point of first contact to follow up after delivery, I have been treated like a VIP.

Nothing is too much trouble, and the parts are of top quality.

Delivery is unbelievably quick, and items are well packaged against damage.

I received my items on Tuesday morning, after a couple of emails on Saturday and Sunday, once I was sure of the parts required.

Not many sellers or companies take the time to do that.

Les, obviously knows his stuff, and I will have no hesitation in recommending him to friends and family.

I will be using his services again in the future, I have no doubt in that.

Spot on service from a spot on guy.

Very highly recomended.

Andy

Top notch quality

06/09/2023

Placed an order a few days ago for a Abu 50 vintage landing net plus Abu spinners from Les Shaw it arrived next day superbly packed and the quality of the item was outstanding just like everything that Les sells its top notch quality I have placed quite a few orders with Les over the years and he sells nothing but the best quality tackle backed up with a superb service I rate him 5 star every Time

Tim Woodman

Fantastic service

12/04/2021

Fantastic service I have bought a few parts now covering my Cardinals 44 a replacement spool just recently, some bail arm bits for my 77 and a new spool and sticker for my 52 all arrived in good time.

Les is doing a fantastic service in keeping our beloved aging reels in tip top condition thanks from me down here in Australia

Brian

Perfect

08/03/2021

I have purchased a Hardy Perfect reel. The reel is better than described. Perfect condition and good price. Fast and safely shipping. Great and honest seller. Thank you Les

Carlo

niceroach

04/02/2020

Great service, Vintage Abu reels parts arrived safely highly recommended

Kind Regards

Anonymous

Cracking

02/02/2018

What a cracking site!!! Les helped me no end in getting my Cardinal 55’s on the right track and in double quick time. Great service, reasonable prices and quick delivery. The one stop shop for classic and vintage reels. Highly recommended……

Chris

Reels will probably outlast me

29/04/2017

Received the parts shortly after speaking on the phone. Great that you take the time to source parts for what i consider the best fixed spool reel made, Abu Suveran, and because off that my reels will probably outlast me!!!! Hope to see you at the Redditch show later this year.

Ed Green